Play Hard, Crash Harder

Posted on

It’s been a long time since I posted last and again I have no excuse for why.  After the last post I decided to wait until my DSLR is fixed to finish the house tour rather than post crappy pictures from my point and shoot.  Our Christmas and New Year were very busy this year.  Even though we had the same number of get togethers as the past few years, it seemed like we were pulled in a million different directions.  We survived the craziness and are looking forward to 2012.  Looking ahead to our first full year as a married couple and living in our house we are excited to share with you the projects, hobbies, and recipes that we come across.  We will try to post as much as possible and make our writing more interesting as the year progresses.

The first weekend of 2012 for us was a chance to breathe in a sense.  With the hustle and bustle of parties and shopping in our rear-view mirror we had a chance to unwind, undecorate, and spend time with the pooch.  One of the Christmas gifts we were most excited about was the snowshoes we got from my parents.  We were looking forward to taking Spring Dog out to Fumee Lake to run wild in the snow but mother nature hasn’t cooperated.  Instead of a typical UP winter with snow coming in 6, 8, or 12 inch dumpings we have gotten an inch or two at a time followed by warm weather.  This week was no exception and even though I wished it were snowing I decided to take Ellie out Friday afternoon to enjoy the sunshine.  I planned on a walk around town to wear her out so I could get some stuff done around the house.  My chores would have to wait after the walk because this is what she looked like when we got done.

I spent almost an hour wiping her off, covering furniture, and keeping her entertained until she dried off.  Magically, she came clean after drying all the way and she didn’t need a bath.

Saturday, Alyssa and I got sick of waiting for snow and decided to go to Fumee without snowshoes.  We took the pup for a long, long hike so she wouldn’t be too rambunctious when we put her in her crate while we went to dinner at my parents.  Here are a couple of pictures from the walk.

All this walking wasn’t enough to wear her out yet.  She wanted to play with her tennis ball even after an hour and a half in the snow. How can you resist when she looks at you like this?

FINALLY after lots of chasing the ball Spring Dog was finally ready to crash.

And by that time, I was ready to join her.

Leave a comment